All Indian prime ministers till now (1947-2022)

The Prime Minister of India is the head of state, however his powers are mostly ceremonial and notional. India’s government is led by the Prime Minister. After a political party wins a general election and nominates a candidate for the position, the President appoints him. Following it, the leader of that political party is named Prime Minister of India.

Overview of India’s Prime Ministers

The Prime Minister of India is the Government of India’s main executive. The following are some of the most common questions asked in various tests.

India’s first Prime Minister was Jawaharlal Nehru. He also holds the record of being India’s longest-serving Prime Minister.

Indira Gandhi was India’s first female prime minister.

Rajiv Gandhi, India’s youngest Prime Minister, was sworn in.

Manmohan Singh is the country’s first Sikh Prime Minister.

India’s current Prime Minister is Narendra Damodardas Modi (14th).

Prime Minister NamePeriodParty
Jawahar Lal Nehru15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964The Indian National Congress (INC)
Gulzarilal Nanda27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964The Indian National Congress (INC)
Lal Bahadur Shastri09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966The Indian National Congress (INC)
Gulzarilal Nanda11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966The Indian National Congress (INC)
Indira Gandhi24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977The Indian National Congress (INC)
Morarji Desai24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979Janata Party
Charan Singh28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980Janata Party (Secular)
Indira Gandhi14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984The Indian National Congress (INC)
Rajiv Gandhi31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989The Indian National Congress (INC)
Vishwanath Pratap Singh02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990Janata Party
Chandra Shekhar10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
P. V. Narasimha Rao21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996The Indian National Congress (INC)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)
H. D. Deve Gowda01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997Janata Party
Atal Bihari Vajpayee19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)

Leave a Comment

59 साल बाद पृथ्वी के बेहद करीब आया बृहस्पति ग्रह Vivo Y16: विवो ने लांच किया सस्ता स्मार्टफोन, यह है फीचर्स और कीमत पीलीभीतः 11 वॉल्ट लाइन पर झूलता नजर आया युवक, हैरान रह गए लोग Micah Hyde will miss the rest of the 2022 season due to a neck injury Is Xi Jinping detained at home? know about Chinese coup rumour
%d bloggers like this: